The Town of Forest City is governed by a Mayor and a Board of Commissioners. Steve Holland is currently serving as the Mayor of the Town of Forest City. The Board of Commissioners includes: Mayor Pro Tempore John Mark Bennett, Commissioner Dee Dee Bright, Commissioner Justin Conner, Commissioner Chris Lee, and Commissioner Shawn Moore.

While any employee is free in their personal capacity to endorse a candidate in an election, the Town of Forest City must remain neutral. Any endorsements by Town employees are strictly those of the individual, not in their official capacity as an employee and are not the official position of the Town of Forest City.